Thursday, May 19, 2016

Blog Tour: Guest Post + Giveaway: Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

outrunthemoonbanner

Welcome to my stop in the OUTRUN THE MOON by Stacey Lee Blog Tour hosted by Penguin. Today on my stop we have a Random 25 Questions + an awesome Tour-Wide Giveaway!!!



Outrun the Moon Blog Tour- Guest Post with Stacey Lee
OUTRUN THE MOON
by Stacey Lee
Published: May 24th, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Historical

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare's School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare's is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong--until disaster strikes. On April 18, an historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy's home and school. With martial law in effect, she is forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Mercy can't sit by while they wait for the Army to bring help. Fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, yet Mercy still has the 'bossy' cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenaged girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city? Breakout author Stacey Lee masterfully crafts another remarkable novel set against a unique historical backdrop. Strong-willed Mercy Wong leads a cast of diverse characters in this extraordinary tale of survival.

BUY THE BOOK:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads



25 RANDOM THINGS ABOUT ME:

1.) I was once a lawyer. I worked in house at a high tech company in the Silicon Valley.

2.) I had to wear braces twice, once as a kid, and once as an adult. (Wear your retainer!)

3.) I have perfect pitch and play piano by ear. I played classical piano for 18 years.

4.) I’m the middle of three girls, and yes, the black sheep.




5.) The last concert I saw was Taylor Swift.

6.) I went surfing for the first time last summer. This is how it went:

Craig Anderson. High fade and nonchalance.
videog bokor

(Just kidding, I actually got a black eye)

7.) When I was a teen, I was once in Seventeen Magazine.

8.) I was the "Siri" for a paging company when pagers were popular.

9.) My mother is a native San Franciscan, born in Chinatown.

10.) I’m a Leo. Leos are supposed to be confident, ambitious, loyal, generous, and encouraging. I’d say I got 3 out of 5.

11.) My favorite part of the writing process is revision. Plotting is my least favorite part.

12.) I’m finicky about the weather, which is why I love California. It’s always mid-seventies where I live, which is perfect for me. (http://giphy.com/gifs/5k-california-san-diego-YFCzJPNoDnMEo)

13.) Sixteen year old me snuck out a lot. I hope my parents aren’t reading this.

14.) I play board games to win. If we’re playing Taboo or Pictionary, you want me on your team. (http://geekandsundry.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/giphy-1.gif)

15.) If I could eat Hawaiian papaya every day, I would.

16.) I’m allergic to most things with fur, and have great pet-envy. (http://giphy.com/gifs/baby-rabbit-bunny-137tewcWQVfmve)

17.) My superpower is funky dancing, an underappreciated skill. You ever want to get someone’s attention? Funky dancing. (https://wifflegif.com/gifs/484646-60s-soul-train-super-funky-dancing-gif)

18.)  I’m horrible at sports. I’ve been hit more times with the than I actually hit the ball. (http://giphy.com/gifs/cheezburger-taylor-swift-ZAGB2bwZkdSqA)

19.)  I love pink and purple, but I mostly wear black.

20.)  I’ve broken my tailbone twice. This probably relates to #20.

21.) My fantasy job would be a panda bear nanny. (http://www.hngn.com/articles/174498/20160129/panda-jobs-hugger-nanny-video.htm) This probably relates to #17.

22.) I love walking. It helps unstick my brain. I measure word count by how many steps I take.

23.) I love audiobooks. Half the books I read are on audiobook. The last one I enjoyed was MILLICENT MIN, GIRL GENIUS, by Lisa Yee, and it was fantastic.

24.) My first car was bright yellow, and attracted bees.

25.) There are only 24 interesting facts about me.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

stacey lee
Stacey Lee is a fourth generation Chinese-American whose people came to California during the heydays of the cowboys. She believes she still has a bit of cowboy dust in her soul. A native of southern California, she graduated from UCLA then got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. After practicing law in the Silicon Valley for several years, she finally took up the pen because she wanted the perks of being able to nap during the day, and it was easier than moving to Spain. She plays classical piano, raises children, and writes YA fiction.

Find Stacey Online!

FIND THE AUTHOR HERE:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

TOUR SCHEDULE:

THE FOREST OF WORDS & PAGES–Guest Post–05/17/16

WINTERHAVEN BOOKS–Character playlist–05/18/16

ADDICTED READERS–25 Random Things About Me–05/19/16

ONCE UPON A TWILIGHT–Review & Giveaway–05/20/16

Rainy Days Coffee and Books–Video Review–05/23/16

Clear Eyes, Full Shelves–Guest post 3–05/24/16

Twinning for Books–Book Soundtrack–05/25/16

IT STARTS AT MIDNIGHT–Guest post 2–05/26/16

BOOKIEMOJI–Review & Giveaway–05/27/16

The Social Potato–Would You Rather?–05/30/16

MUNDIE MOMS–Interview–05/31/16

THE EXTRAORDINARY WORLDS–Interview–06/01/16

Read Write Love 28–Interview–06/02/16

Event Organized By:


1 comments:

  1. I've been saying it everyone: I need this book. And YAY for Girl Genius! :D

    ReplyDelete

I love meeting new people through comments, and I always try to comment back! Thanks for stopping by! :)