Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Teaser Tuesday #65: Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White






?









Illusions of Fate






Illusions of Fate





https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19367070-illusions-of-fate?from_search=true
Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.
 



They're covered in cuts and slices like tallies in a ledger. Her face has several long, seeping slits as well.

"What happened?" I kneel at her bedside, grabbing a cloth to help.

"Birds." She closes her eyes, her face pale with shock. "I went out for vegetables and a whole flock of birds flew down at me. I couldn't get away. It was like being caught in a stormthey were all around"

  
As soon as my lips find his, he backs away, nearly falling off his chair. "I didn't make you do that!" His eyes are wide with panic. "Please believe me, I really have not been using any charm spells, and I would never take advantage of—"

I put my finger—from the hand without the glove—over his mouth and trace the soft curve of his bottom lip. "Please stop talking." Hooking the collar of his shirt, I pull him toward me and kiss him again. 
  






 
Kiersten WhiteHi! I'm the New York Times best-selling author of Paranormalcy and Supernaturally. I also give the most awkward hugs in the world. You should probably opt for one of my books over one of my hugs, but then again, maybe you like awkward hugs.

As for me, I like writing flirting scenes, and fighting scenes, and sometimes I write scenes that fall somewhere in between the two, but only if I can't avoid it.












2 comments:

  1. OOoh nice teasers! Especially that second one!

    Here's my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Interesting plot and those teasers really captured my attention! Might as well check it out! :D

    ReplyDelete

I love meeting new people through comments, and I always try to comment back! Thanks for stopping by! :)