Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore Blog Tour: Guest Post + Giveaway


Welcome to my stop in the DARK METROPOLIS by Jaclyn Dolamore  Blog Tour hosted by Itching For Books Tours. Today we have an awesome Guest Post by Jaclyn, and a Tour-Wide Giveaway!!








 Dark Metropolis





Dark Metropolis (Dark Metropolis, #1)Dark Metropolis
Jaclyn Dolamore
(Dark Metropolis #1)
Published: June 17th, 2014
Genres: YA, Dystopian, Sci-f


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12483970-dark-metropolis
Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder's mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules. 


Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they're not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

 




**The Fashions of Dark Metropolis**



I've always been a historical fashion buff, since I was a kid and the first section I always hit on every library trip was the fashion books to see if they had anything new! As an adult I became a vintage clothing collector (I own a 1920s bathing suit and wedding dress!) and so I had a lot of fun plotting fashions for my characters in Dark Metropolis. Since Dark Metropolis was inspired by the 1927 film Metropolis, the clothes are also accurate to the styles of 1927! I thought I'd show you what some of the clothes look like.



pg. 10: "Nan laughed as she tugged her hat on; it was one of the new styles that bared the forehead."


The most famous hat of the 1920s is the cloche, a somewhat bell-shaped hat that comes down over the ears and across the forehead with a straight brim all around, but in the late 1920s, the "forehead hat" started to come into existence. This hat, as the name suggests, bared the forehead, and so Thea covets this hat because it is the shiniest, newest thing!







pg. 10: "Nan made her own clothes--gorgeous dresses with cunning details like cape collars and appliques."


If there is one thing I learned from writing this book, it's that I want some 1920s day dresses! Desperately! The fancy beaded, fringed flapper evening wear tends to get the most attention, but the day dresses were just gorgeous. The attention to detail really was amazing--even though the silhouette was almost always the same, they have so much variety of color, pattern, and styles of collar, sleeve, belt, hem and pocket. Here is a quickie sketch I did of Nan in her cape collar dress, but I was pretty lazy about details.







 pg. 17: "If Thea's mother was her old self, she would have been the one giving orders, telling Thea not to roll her stockings down quite so low, but now Thea had to make sure Mother was presentable."


In the 1920s, it was the hottest style to roll down your stockings, rather than pinning them up with a corset and garter belt as your mother would certainly have done. While researching this book I also happened to find out HOW rolled stockings were accomplished, as I always wondered how they stayed up! It was thanks to "roll garters". I have to say, they don't look tremendously comfortable to me!




 


 pg. 42: "After these past couple of nights of leaving work to go home to an empty apartment, it was nice to see Freddy waiting for her outside, with a gray fedora now covering his hair."


In the original draft, Freddy was wearing a homburg hat, but my editor thought few readers would know what a homburg was, so I changed to a fedora. Both were accurate enough. I imagine only men's historical fashion experts could tell the difference. For all my interest in fashion history, I certainly could not!


pg. 91: "She had bought a new hat just for the occasion, bonnet-style with a curved brim that shaded her face, and pink flowers all over."


In Chapter 14, Thea is trying to disguise herself and buys this most un-Thea-ish hat. The "poke bonnet" of the 19th century had a brief revival in 1927-28. It was a very ROMANTIC hat, what with all the flowers and the more modest-seeming shape, and quite pretty in its own way, but not Thea's style at all! You can see one very much like Thea's, only in blue, in the bottom-left corner.







I hope you enjoyed this peek into the characters' wardrobes!





Jaclyn Dolamore was homeschooled in a hippie sort of way and spent her childhood reading as many books as her skinny nerd-body could lug from the library and playing elaborate pretend games with her sister Kate. She skipped college and spent eight years drudging through retail jobs, developing her thrifty cooking skills and pursuing a lifelong writing dream. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, David Bowie, drawing, and organic food. She lives with her partner and plot-sounding-board, Dade, and two black tabbies who have ruined her carpeting.







Event Organized By:
Become a Tour Host






5 comments:

  1. Replies
    1. I know, I love the fashion back in the 1930's!

      Delete
  2. thank you for the nice giveaway

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for stopping by, and good luck, Bella! :)

      Delete
  3. Love the pics...a much more simpler, yet beautiful, time!

    ReplyDelete

I love meeting new people through comments, and I always try to comment back! Thanks for stopping by! :)