Thursday, May 29, 2014

What's Next #59: The Jewel, Forbidden, The Fire Wish



What's Next
is a weekly bookish event hosted by Icey Books that helps bloggers/readers decide on their next book to read. If this sounds like something your interested in, then head over to Icey Books and sign-up!



Hey Guys,
Happy Thursday!
I hope everyone is having a wonderful week so far? Check out What's Next in my Reading Pile and if you can help me out by voting on What Next to read, you'd be a BIG help!






PICK ONE





The JewelThe Jewel
Amy Ewing
Published: September 2nd, 2014
Genres: YA, Dystopian, Fantasy

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16068780-the-jewel
The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Not just any kind of servitude. Violet, born and raised in the Marsh, has been trained as a surrogate for the royalty—because in the Jewel the only thing more important than opulence is offspring.

Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her existence... and try to stay alive. But then a forbidden romance erupts between Violet and a handsome gentleman hired as a companion to the Duchess’s petulant niece. Though his presence makes life in the Jewel a bit brighter, the consequences of their illicit relationship will cost them both more than they bargained for.
 
PICK TWO





Forbidden
Forbidden



https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18889290-forbidden
sweeping, epic saga of romance and hardship, set against the dramatic backdrop of ancient Mesopotamia—perfect for fans of Cleopatra's Moon or the adult bestseller The Red Tent.

In the unforgiving Mesopotamian desert where Jayden’s tribe lives, betrothal celebrations abound, and tonight it is Jayden’s turn to be honored. But while this union with Horeb, the son of her tribe’s leader, will bring a life of riches and restore her family’s position within the tribe, it will come at the price of Jayden’s heart.

Then a shadowy boy from the Southern Lands appears. Handsome and mysterious, Kadesh fills Jayden’s heart with a passion she never knew possible. But with Horeb’s increasingly violent threats haunting Jayden’s every move, she knows she must find a way to escape—or die trying.

With a forbidden romance blossoming in her heart and her family’s survival on the line, Jayden must embark on a deadly journey to save the ones she loves—and find a true love for herself.

Set against the brilliant backdrop of the sprawling desert, the story of Jayden and Kadesh will leave readers absolutely breathless as they defy the odds and risk it all to be together.






 PICK THREE





The Fire Wish (The Jinni Wars, #1)
The Fire Wish





 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16123804-the-fire-wish
A jinni. A princess. And the wish that changes everything. . . .

Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the humans. Zayele is a human on her way to marry a prince of Baghdad—which she’ll do anything to avoid. So she captures Najwa and makes a wish. With a rush of smoke and fire, they fall apart and re-form—as each other. A jinni and a human, trading lives. Both girls must play their parts among enemies who would kill them if the deception were ever discovered—enemies including the young men Najwa and Zayele are just discovering they might love.



 So, what'cha think of my top 3 choices of the week? If you can help me out, leave a comment voting on which book should come first.


Don't forget to link me up to your What's Next or weekly memo and I'll come visit you! :-)





1 comments:

  1. The Jewel! That cover just does me in. I love it. I mean, the synopsis sounds good too, but really, I just kind of want to look at the cover all day ;) Enjoy whichever you choose!

    ReplyDelete

I love meeting new people through comments, and I always try to comment back! Thanks for stopping by! :)