Friday, November 1, 2013

Relic Blog Tour & Interview

 
 
Relic
 By: Heather Terrell

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17262735-relic
 
 The Truth Will Test You...

For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down.

When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before he is due to participate in The Testing, no one expects Eva to take his place. She’s a Maiden, slated for embroidery classes, curtseys, and soon a prestigious marriage befitting the daughter of an Aerie ruler. But Eva insists on honoring her brother by becoming a Testor. After all, she wouldn’t be the first Maiden to Test, just the first in 150 years.

Eva knows the Testing is no dance class. Gallant Testors train for their entire lives to search icy wastelands for Relics: artifacts of the corrupt civilization that existed before The Healing drowned the world. Out in the Boundary Lands, Eva must rely on every moment of the lightning-quick training she received from Lukas—her servant, a Boundary native, and her closest friend now that Eamon is gone.

But there are threats in The Testing beyond what Lukas could have prepared her for. And no one could have imagined the danger Eva unleashes when she discovers a Relic that shakes the Aerie to its core.

     http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/relic-heather-terrell/1115444269?ean=9781616951962&itm=1&usri=9781616951962&cm_mmc=AFFILIATES-_-Linkshare-_-GwEz7vxblVU-_-10:1&r=1,%201
 
 
  
Interview With Heather
 
 
 
1.) What inspired the idea for RELIC?
 
When I was growing up, I was fortunate to have a wonderful aunt -- who also happened to be an English professor and a rebellious nun -- who was always gifting me with amazing, unusual books and talking to me about history and myth and literature  And when I was in early middle school, for Christmas, my Aunt Terry gave me a book that literally changed my life.  The Mists of Avalon, a retelling of the legend of King Arthur and Camelot and the knights of the Round Table -- from the female point of view.  This change in perspective -- using basically the same facts, but telling the story from a different point of view -- fundamentally alters the traditional understanding of the tale. From this, I learned that there are often hidden truths lying in history and myth and that trusted leaders and storytellers can shape those truths in the name of their agendas.  With my new series, THE BOOKS OF EVA -- of which RELIC is the first book -- I wanted to get at this theme of hidden historical stories differently than I ever had before.  Uniquely.  Instead of going back in time to a real, existing mystery, I wanted to go forward, to a future that may or may not exist, and examine OUR time through another’s eyes.  And actually show how history is created through the alteration of myth and literature.   

 
 
2.) Who was your favorite character, and why? 
 
Probably the main character of RELIC, Eva.  She must take her brother’s place in the Testing, a harrowing ritual in the Arctic medieval world of New North in which competitors must excavate artifacts from our world that washed onto the Frozen Shores when the Healing flooded the rest of the world.  Not only did I find Eva’s journey exciting to write, but I also I enjoyed creating a deeply conflicted character -- one caught between the New North two worlds of Maiden and Testor.  

 
 
3.) Did you enjoy writing RELIC or did you find it difficult to write after you started writing?
 

I thoroughly enjoyed researching and creating the world in RELIC.  Call me crazy, but I’ve always fantasized about traveling back in time to the medieval world, as well as actually visiting the Arctic.  Creating the world of New North -- where I get to merge two of my long-held fantasies to construct an Arctic medieval society -- was a dream come true.  And then to layer archaeology on top of it -- another fantasy of mine -- well, I might never want to leave the world of RELIC.  


 
4.) If their was one thing you could change about this book what would it be and why?
 
I don’t think there is any one thing I would change about RELIC.  It was a terrific experience to write and edit it with my Soho Teen editor Dan Ehrenhaft.  There is something I might change about the writing of the second in THE BOOKS OF EVA series -- more time to delve into its world and story.  There are so many nuances in the plot and the New North society on which I want to follow up, that I would welcome more time to write the sequel to RELIC!

 
 5.) How many books do you plan on writing for this series?
 
I am deeply engrossed in writing and editing the second book in THE BOOKS OF EVA series right now, and I would love to write more.  Certainly the series contains enough material to justify it, and I adore being in the world of New North, as I mentioned before.   I’ll write as many books as the readers want to read!

 
6.) Can you give us a little spoiler and or phrase/sentence from RELIC?
 
Hmmm . . . a spoiler phrase or sentence.  I’d have to choose: “I’m so sorry Eamon.  You were never meant to make it this far.”  You’ll have to read the book to understand just how catalytic that phrase becomes for everyone in RELIC.
 
 
7.) Is their anything you would like to say to your fans?
 
I am so grateful for their support -- and their enjoyment of the unique world and story of RELIC!
 
 
Chronicles Before
The Books Of Eve 0.5
 
 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18277553-chronicle
This is our second—and last—chance. Thanks to the Gods, and thanks to the Testing.

Each year, the finest Gallants in New North embark on the Testing, a harrowing rite of passage through the frozen wastelands to recover Relics, artifacts from the evil time before the Healing. About these Relics the Testors construct their Chronicles, illustrating mankind’s depravity, his Vanity, his love of Tech, his sins too numerous to count. All true Chronicles are collected and made part of the Lex’s Holy Truths, year by year.

The Chronicle. Nothing is more vital to the resolve of the inhabitants of the New North, the last inhabitants of an Earth flooded by the Healing. But not all Chronicles are deemed True. And not all Testors are Gallants. One year there was a Maiden, Madeline, the first but not the last. Braving the perils of the Testing, she discovered a Relic that, if Chronicled, would be the New North’s downfall...
 
http://www.amazon.com/Chronicle-Before-Books-Eva-ebook/dp/B00E62IF8M/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1383270187&sr=1-1&keywords=9781616954369
 
 Its FREE now on Amazon & B&N
         
 

Author Interviews Trailer

Heather Terrell Talks About Relic!

 
Meet Heather Terrell
Heather Terrell Heather Terrell is a lawyer with more than ten years' experience as a litigator at two of the country's premier law firms and for Fortune 500 companies. She is a magna cum laude graduate of Boston College with a focus in History and Art History, and a cum laude graduate of the Boston University School of Law. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family.
Heather is the author of The Chrysalis and The Map Thief, which will appear in more than ten countries, as well as Brigid of Kildare. She turned her hand to young adult fiction with the Fallen Angel series, and continues it with the upcoming series The Books of Eva. The first book in the series -- Relic -- releases in October 2013.
 
Find Her Here  
{Blog} {Goodreads} {Facebook}


Thanks Heather Terrell & SOHO TEEN for allowing me to be apart of this AWESOME Blog Tour!

Event Organized By
Soho Teen
 

 


0 comments:

Post a Comment

I love meeting new people through comments, and I always try to comment back! Thanks for stopping by! :)