Sunday, June 9, 2013

Defiance by C.J. Redwine Review





 Defiance Review



Defiance (Defiance, #1)Title: Defiance
Series: Defiance #1
Author: C.J. Redwine 

Genre: YA, Dystopia
Published: August 28th 2012 


 


 Defiance by C. J. Redwine is rich postapocalyptic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Graceling and Tamora Pierce.

While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice.

When Rachel's father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city's brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father's apprentice, Logan--the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.




For some reason this review has been the one hardest reviews I have ever wrote! Why I don't know? I'm guessing it's because it's really hard for me to write this review without giving spoilers. Another reason I'm thinking is because, While I really enjoyed this book, there still was parts that felt lacking, or not written as well as I thought it could be. But that was a small thing compared to how much I enjoyed everything else. But whatever the reason is, it's taken me over a week to write this review, and that's a long time for me!

 Defiance was NOTHING like I thought it would be. I was expecting something back in like the early 1900's, and the ruler to be a king, and the majority of the time to be spent traveling the wasteland fighting for survival. But it was TOTALLY DIFFERENT! I really don't know where I got them ideas from, because the description doesn't say any of this except the wasteland part (Which they do travel, but not until about more then halfway through the book). But this is the picture I got in my head when I read the description and reviews. I guess I was expecting something more like Gracling (but without the Grace part). But what it turned out to be was still really good, just not what I went into this book expecting.


 First, the plot of this book amazing! That's what really drew me in after starting it. I liked the concept of her father missing & being declared dead, and Rachel determined to find him alive. I also liked the Protector part of the book, it definitely brought some tensity to the book. When reading a book  I have to almost always have a strong, independent, kick-butt type heroin. And that's what Rachel was an more! So with all this happening very early in the book, I was sucked in!

 But... there was a couple things that bothered me about this book. One being the writing. I did not particularly care for it that much. It was by no means terrible, but I did not feel it was great either. It felt like the author couldn't express herself the way she wanted too. Especially when she wrote Logan's part. It was like she couldn't write from a male's perspective. Logan's thoughts seemed to be rushed and all over the place. Like his ideas were flying in from everywhere, and he could process them fast enough. I don't know if that's how the author wanted it to be like, but I didn't like they way his chapters were told. But It was a small thing compared to the amazing plot, that I really enjoyed!

Another thing about this book is that it did start out slow, there really wasn't that much action until a little more then a quarter (or more) of the way through the book, BUT for some reason that did not bother. I was so engrossed in the plot and world building, and the things that was happening, to not even worry about the action part. Which is really weird for me because usually I have to have a fast-paced book to stay in engrossed! Nope, not with this book, My attention was held through the entire book, No matter what Was going on, action or not. That says a lot about how good I felt this book was!


The Plot:

Rachel's a seventeen year old girl that has been trained by her father to be strong, independent, & know how to fight and survival by any means possible. Her world is Shattered when her father is declared dead after going on a mission into the Wasteland for Commander Chase and never returns. The Commander, the evil ruler of their of their Walled City of Baalboden, has an evil agenda. And Rachel's getting ready to find out just how evil he really is...

After Rachel's father is declared dead, she must be assigned and new protector to take her fathers place. Her father has left a will stating who he wants to be her protector in is abstinence. And it's no other then the 19 years old Logan McEntire, the boy that she gave her heart to 2 years ago, only to have it stomped on, and handed right back to her shattered! She's gone out of her way to avoid her one-time good friend Logan. But now that he is assigned her Protector, she is forced to live under his rule, and there's nothing Rachel can do about it!

Rachel is beyond reason, she thinks her fathers still alive and is determined to scout the wasteland for her father, that she so desperately needs! But with Rachel not allowed beyond the wall, things get a little tricky. And to make matters worse the Commander thinks Rachel and Logan are hiding something about her fathers disappearance. 

So with Rachel plotting her escape, and thinking Logan is unwilling to help search for her father, and the commander breathing down her neck, with his goons following her and Logan around everywhere, and the uncomfortable situation she and Logan are in, things are crazy! 
But there about to get worse...

 The commander wants something that only Rachel knows, and he's determined to get it from her one way or another! Whether he has to kidnap or kill a love one, force her to become a Ward of the state to have all legal control over her, or make her venture out into the treacherous Wasteland, with threats of Trackers, Highway men, Wild animals and the most dangerous thing ever known to man!  The ones called the Cursed Ones. They're Huge fire breathing beast that comes up from the ground, and can not be killed, only evaded. The Cursed Ones kill anything they come into contact with! But the Commander will do anything to get what he wants from Rachel, And Rachel will do anything to keep it from him, No matter the cost...

After about halfway through the book that's when the action picks up and we get into full swing of things. I really did like this book, However, I do think it could of been better, But I'm still very happy with it, and eager to read the next installment in the series! 

Overall, even with the slow start and the writing lacking in some parts, it did not take away from the book, and the plot was unique in someways. I would definitely recommend this book. 

4 Bone Hearts




C.J. RedwineC.J. Redwine loves stilettos, lemon bars, any movie starring Johnny Depp, and books. C.J. holds a degree in English Literature from Pepperdine University and now lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband, four kids, two spastic cats, and one long-suffering dog. For more on C.J., please visit her...



 {Goodreads}  {Blog}  {Twitter}  {Facebook}







4 comments:

  1. I really need to read this one already. I honestly have no excuse not to since it is sitting on my bookshelf. I honestly don't believe that I have read anything negative about it. Including your review! Thanks so much, and I think I am going to go grab this one now!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I appreciate your honest review. I've had this book in my TBR list for a while and I've read some mixed reviews about it but it seems that it all boils down to the readers preference in writing style. I'm still very much looking forward to reading this book :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hmm.. I have read mixed review of this one. Some people seems to like it, while others disliked it. But thanks for the recomedition! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't begun this series but this first book appears to give some mixed signals but i like your honesty present in this review and i will definitely read this book to experience the whole ordeal myself.

    Great Review.
    Aparajita @Le' Grande Codex

    ReplyDelete

I love meeting new people through comments, and I always try to comment back! Thanks for stopping by! :)